August 18, 2015

Board of Directors

The Jets Board of Directors can be contacted via


Matt Porter 

Matt was appointed Chairman at the 2017 AGM after having served most recently as Director – Senior Football for most of 2017.  In his 23rd year at the club, Matt has served in multiple roles on the Club Board and Senior Committee.

Matt as an extensive background in corporate governance, management and sales and has studied in elite company at the prestigious Harvard Business School.

Matt also holds the total games and goal kicking records for the Jets Seniors and has coached Jets teams to Grand Finals.  He was inducted as a Jets Life Member in 2006.

Matt has three children, two of which have pulled on a jumper for the Jets.

Director Senior Football:

Anthony Hambleton

Anthony has been involved with the Gungahlin Jets for a number of years as a parent, volunteer and committee member.  He joined the Board in October 2017 after taking on the role as Senior President.  Anthony has three sons who play with the Jets juniors/seniors.  He and his wife Louise, have been heavily involved with the Club in supporting roles for the last number of years.

Anthony served in the Australian Regular Army for 32 years and transferred to the Army Reserve four years ago.  He is a Company Director in a Not for Profit Company and also on a Medical Research Foundation.  He undertakes consultancy roles and carries out volunteer work for Legacy Australia.

Director Junior Football (acting):

Terry Evans

2018 will see Terry completing his 12th year on the Jets Junior Committee, fulfilling many different Junior and club wide roles over that time including, Property Manager, Jetstream Editor, Merchandise Coordinator, Website and Social Media Administrator, Junior Registrar, Junior Vice President and Junior President. Terry has 2 children at the Jets who between them have notched up 342 games. Terry was inducted as a Jets Life Member at the completion of the 2016 season and was recognised as the AFL Canberra Junior Volunteer of the Year in 2012.


Joe Cortese

Joe Cortese has over forty years experience and relevant business qualifications in controlling a large multi-disciplined group in construction activities that ensure the integrity of building and civil infrastructure assets within the NSW/Canberra region.

Have 30 years service to sport as an administrator or player at East Canberra/Gungahlin Jets AFC, Ainslie FC and ACT Rugby. Currently a director on the Jets board including senior football operations manager, a founding life member of the club, premiership player and coach, first player to reach 50 games milestone for the Jets.

Joe’s passion and purpose for being involved in sport are to develop or evolve the Gungahlin Jets AFC into a strong community club in creating pathways for juniors from both genders into senior football in the local AFL Canberra competition. He further believes sport provides a healthy life style, confidence to reach life goals, teamwork and making friends

 Director Risk:

Michael Whyte

Michael has over 30 years experience in Risk Management and Insurance, and has business qualifications in Management, as well as being a Senior Associate at the Australian Insurance Institute.

Michael has been involved in sport for over 40 years both as a participant and a coach. Michael is a former Basketball Coach (A-Grade Men and Representative level), Cricket (Junior levels) and AFL (Junior levels).

Michael’s association with the Gungahlin Jets dates back to 2004. Michael is a Life Member of the Gungahlin Jets AFC, and has been the recipient of a number of awards with the Junior Jets, namely Coach of the Year and Volunteer of the Year.

Michael has a passion to make sure that an opportunity to play sport, and be involved in a sporting club, be available to every person regardless of ability or disability. Michael believes that “The Gungahlin Jets is a fantastic community-based sporting club, that plays an integral role in providing an opportunity for males and females (Senior and Junior) to play sport in a friendly and welcoming environment”. “The Board and energetic group of volunteers are all working hard to provide the means necessary to meet the challenges of an expanding club, both now and into the future”.


Shane O’Keeffe

Shane is passionate about the Gungahlin Jets having been a member and volunteer with the Club for many years.  He has been Team Manager for his son’s team for the past 5 years and joined the Junior Committee in 2015, taking the role of Registrar.  He joined the Board in 2016 and looks forward to continuing his contribution to the Club on the Board in the role as Treasurer and as a Junior Committee member.

Shane is a Chartered Accountant with more than 20 years in professional practice.  He is a Partner of McGrathNicol, a national advisory firm, and leads their Canberra office.  In Shane’s professional capacity, he has extensive experience in financial and governance advisory having worked with organisations across the not-for-profit sector, private sector and Australian Government


Greg Mace

Greg has over 20 years experience delivering complex ICT programs in Australian Government and is currently managing Oracle Corporations Australian Public Sector business for Customer Experience applications.

Greg has been involved in sport for over 35 years competing at a global level as part of the Australian Junior Athletics team.  Greg was one of the first individual scholarships holders at the ACT Academy of Sport, and still holds some Australian Junior records for Shot Put.  Greg has also represented the ACT in Australian Rules Football as a junior.

Greg’s association with the Gungahlin Jets dates back to the mid-90’s. Greg has held a number of roles at the club including President, Vice President, and Coach.  Greg is recipient of the Jet of the Year award and life member of the club.

Greg is looking forward to being part of the journey to shape and guide the club to a stable and successful future.


Travis Scholfield

Travis has been involved in Aussie Rules football for approximately 30 years, having played junior footy and early senior footy with various clubs throughout country Victoria.  He first joined the Jets in 2003.  Since that time he has played in excess of 230 games, is a dual premiership player, Jet of the Year, multiple Presidents Award winner, and last year was awarded life membership.

Travis has previously served on the board and senior committee, was an integral board member responsible in the decision to field the inaugural womens team and the establishment of the original Division 2 team in 2010.  Travis’ ambitions are to help the club to continue its development in Division 1, 2 and Rising Stars and to also maintain success of the Jetettes and Juniors

Travis has two small children that will be pulling on the Jets jumper in the next few years.


David Vanderwolf

David’s involvement with the Jets commenced last year when he helped us establish our involvement in netball. As Netball President David has overseen the Jets entering two teams in our inaugural season and our expansion in 2018.

David has spent the last four years working in the ACT Government, spending most of that time working in the Economic and Financial Group within Treasury. He is a long suffering netball husband, whose wife is co-captain/manager of the Jets 2nd division team and he has been known to play mixed netball himself.